Need research help?
Use Ask-A-Librarian to contact staff to answer general and specific library questions and identify the most appropriate print and online resources for your research.
Includes online encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger imprints covering subject areas in the social sciences, science, and technology.
Full-text articles and citations across the disciplines taught at VSU.
Devoted to the primary source material in American history.
Alternate Name(s): Chadwyck Healey African American Poetry Database Searchable database of African American poetry from 1760 to 1900.
Find global information on topics related to business, criminal justice, education, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos, images, and web-only content, including the Progress-Index, Richmond Times-Dispatch, Virginian-Pilot, USA Today and international sources.
Art Retrospective, 1929-1984. Contains citations to the print Art Index published from 1929 to 1984
Provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984.
Scholarly business database providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full-text content. Indexes and abstracts are the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Searchable cited references provided.
Alternate Name(s): Music Online: Classical Music Library offers more than 10,000 classical music recordings covering the Baroque, Classical, and Romance periods.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Indexes and abstracts journals in communication and mass media and full-text content for over 200 journals.
Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
The online equivalent of the print serial Historical documents, issued since 1972, covers the most significant events such as presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and more.
Presents full-text articles on current social, political, economic, and international issues
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text
Indexes international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Areas covered include trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing.
Alternate Name(s): Dance Online: Dance in Video captures performances from the stage and brings them directly to the computer desktop. The collection contains streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue.
Full-text access to economic literature.
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,840 journals, as well as full text for more than 950 journals, and includes full text for more than 81 books and monographs and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Contains education-related documents and journal articles.
Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective, 1900-1984
Indexes essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.
Provides financial, historical, and product information for publicly traded companies worldwide, full-text magazine and journal articles, and current and historical stock quotes.
Provides full text of a collection of scholarly Spanish language journals in many academic areas, including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy, and theology.
Gale Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion eBook Collection
Alternate Name(s): Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Ebook Collection Provides information and research across a broad range of EDI (Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion) topics.
Topical information published by the U.S. Government.
Searchable scanned images of all pages of Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Provides access to nearly 80 full-text consumer health magazines covering health topics in the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, and sports medicine.
Covers the legal history and government documents, including works from some of the greatest minds in legal history, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, an entire database dedicated to constitutions, and much more.Contains the U. S. Code, congressional documents, federal governmental regulations, federal statutes, and much more.
Article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations covering world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the United States and Canada.
Humanities International Complete
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books, and other published sources from around the world in the humanities. The database includes full text from more than 670 journals.
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
Contain citations of journal articles in the areas of the humanities and social sciences.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
Full-text for more than 250 scholarly law journals, including information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends in the legal world.
Medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Covers 1989 to the present.
Military & Government Collection
Provides current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Monthly Catalog of US Government Publication: 1895-1976
An index to historical information published by the United States federal government between January 1895 and June 1976.
Multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
Brings together a variety of essential music reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database.
NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Summaries of more than 150,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 131 national & international newspapers and selective full text for more than 335 U.S newspapers. The database also contains full-text television & radio news transcripts.
Oxford University Press Journals
Provides access to the full-text of scholarly works in 20 subject areas, covering the humanities, social sciences, medicine, and law.
An index of journal literature covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
Indexed and classified records from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, and other publications. Includes abstracts, e-mail addresses, expanded publisher and author information, and other data.
Most humanities and social sciences journal issues are available online from Johns Hopkins University Press.
ProQuest History Vault' Black Freedom Digital Archive
Primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries are among the unique resources available in digital format.
ProQuest Legislative Insight Digital Archive
Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full-text publications relevant to enacted United States public laws.
Full-text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Offers nearly 300 full-text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Indexes classical music, pop, folk, and jazz, as well as interdisciplinary studies on music with selected full-text. Abstracts and citations are drawn from articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, and much more.
Provides online access to full-text scholarly journals from SAGE covering all subject disciplines.
Short Story Retrospective, 1915-1983
Contains entries on more than 150,000 short stories from the Short Story Index from its beginning in 1915 up to 1983.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon, and other labels. Contains music recorded around the African continent for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University and material collected on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE) sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies
Contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to the present and a directory of clinical social workers in the United States.
Contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to the present and a directory of clinical social workers in the United States.
Taylor and Francis Journal Collection
Contains ebooks across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, and Education from leading imprints, including Routledge, Psychology Press, and Garland Science. The CRCnetBASE platform hosts ebooks in Health, Medicine, Computer Science, and Information Technology.
This contains finding aids to archival and manuscripts collections in nineteen Virginia repositories. The contents of the database represent only a small percentage of each institution's holdings.
An electronic service that includes Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present and the Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present.