Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Discovery Tool
Search for library resources
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Devoted to primary source material in American history that includes selected African American newspapers from the 19th century. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies.
America: History and Life with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Full coverage of articles and dissertations covering the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1-5 This link opens in a new window
Provides digital access to a highly comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Produced by a partnership between EBSCO and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).
CQ Historic Documents This link opens in a new window
The online equivalent of the print serial Historic documents, issued since 1972 covering the most significant events such as presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Presents full-text articles on current social, political, economic, and international issues
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
Searchable scanned images of all pages of Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Covers legal history and government documents including works from some of the greatest minds in legal history, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, an entire database dedicated to constitutions and much more.Contains the U. S. Code, congressional documents, federal governmental regulations, federal statutes, and much more.
Historical Abstracts with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations covering world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the United States and Canada.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Create your New York Times Access Pass to the New York Times starting with the first issue in 1851. Contains full-text articles that appear in the printed paper, as well as a wealth of blogs, interactive features, videos and other web-only content. For assistance with your New York Times account registration, please visit the New York Times Libguide at http://libguides.vsu.edu/nytimes
ProQuest Black Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Offers the full-text and image article from Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003), and the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Collection Development Librarian