Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary full-text database that offers indexing and abstracts for journals monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back to 1887.
African American Poetry, 1760-1900
Searchable database of African American poetry from 1760 to 1900.
American Poetry, 1760 – 1900
Searchable database of 1,288 works by 209 poets from 1760 to 1900
English Poetry Full-Text
Contains poems in English from Anglo-Saxon times to the end of the nineteenth century by writers from the British Isles.
English Verse Drama
English Verse Drama contains more than 2,200 works by around 500 named and over 300 works by unknown authors.
A virtual library containing more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 366 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Criticism Online
Covers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres, offering tens of thousands of hard-to-find critical essays. Includes the following titles: Contemporary literary criticism; Twentieth-Century literary criticism; Nineteenth-Century literature criticism; Literature criticism from 1400-1800; Shakespearean criticism; Classical and medieval literature criticism; Poetry criticism; Short story criticism; and Drama criticism.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers novelists, essayist, poets, journalists, and other writers. Includes links to Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and more.
MLA International Bibliography
Access to the Modern Language Association's index of critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Entire text of the 22-volume Oxford English Dictionary.
Mostly humanities and social sciences journal issues available online from Johns Hopkins University Press.
Shakespeare Survey Online
Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances.