Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ABC-CLIO E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes online encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger imprints covering subject areas in the social sciences, science, and technology.
CAB eBooks Archives, 2000-2004 This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of 230 CABI electronic book titles going back to 2005 with each individual book chapter available to download in Adobe Acrobat format.
EBL E-Book Library (now called ProQuest E-Book Central) This link opens in a new window
Contains a collection of electronic books specifically in the areas of science, technology, and medicine. This is the collection of e-books purchased by the VSU Library.
EBSCO AudioBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of selected audiobook titles.
EBSCO E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides the full-text of books from selected academic and commercial publishers as well as the full-text of a large number of older works in the public domain.
Safari Tech Books (now called O'Reilly for Higher Education) This link opens in a new window
One-stop source for leading information technology books online, videos, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences. .Access to this resource requires registration with your Virginia State University email address.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences and selected e-books.
SpringerLink Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal titles and selected e-book collections in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics .
Taylor and Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Contains ebooks across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, and Education from leading imprints, including Routledge, Psychology Press, and Garland Science. The CRCnetBASE platform hosts ebooks in Health, Medicine, Computer Science, and Information Technology.
Wiley E-Books This link opens in a new window
Contains Wiley Online Books content. The collection does not include Current Protocols, and Reference Works.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
News and information on the academic world, including reports of current events and issues, developments in information technology, and job opportunities. Includes the full current issue and 10 years of archives.
CQ Historic Documents This link opens in a new window
The online equivalent of the print serial Historic documents, issued since 1972 covering the most significant events such as presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Presents full-text articles on current social, political, economic, and international issues
Grove's Dictionary of Art Online (now called Oxford Art Online) This link opens in a new window
Full-text version of 34-volume print dictionary with images and links to museums, galleries, etc.
Grove's Dictionary of Music (now called Oxford Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Full-text version of 29-volume print dictionary with musical examples, family histories, important musical cities, and performing societies.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Covers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres, offering tens of thousands of hard-to-find critical essays. Includes the following titles: Contemporary literary criticism; Twentieth-Century literary criticism; Nineteenth-Century literature criticism; Literature criticism from 1400-1800; Shakespearean criticism; Classical and medieval literature criticism; Poetry criticism; Short story criticism; and Drama criticism.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full-text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full-text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags.
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary) This link opens in a new window
Entire text of the 22-volume Oxford English Dictionary.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Provides the full-text of reference books, including encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries published by Oxford University Press.
Shakespeare Survey Online This link opens in a new window
Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances.