Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Websites

This guide covers music resources available at the VSU Library, including full-text journals, magazine, and newspaper articles, music websites, and printed materials in the Reference Collection.

African American Music

African American Art Song Alliance.  The African American Art Alliance was founded in 1997 by Darryl Taylor, in an effort to disseminate information through the internet on music by black composers, as well as the performers and scholars most responsible for the spreading of this important art.  You will find information on composers, performers, scholars, and so much more.

Archives of African American Music and Culture. The Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era. Our collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of black radio.

Afrocentric Voices. Afrocentric Voices focuses on African American performers and composers and on the vocal music forms they influenced, especially opera, art songs and Negro spirituals composed for concert performance.

 

Music - General

All Music Guide. This site provides access to links on a variety of music types.

American Musicological Society. The American Musicological Society is a non-profit organization that advances research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship.

American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP). ASCAP is a membership association of U.S. composers, songwriters and publishers of every kind of music worldwide. ASCAP is the only U.S. performing rights organization created and controlled by composers, songwriters and music publishers and it protects the rights of its members by licensing and distributing royalties for the non-dramatic public performances of their copyrighted works.

Classic Saxophone On-Line. This site is the global source for quality saxophone literature, recordings, videos, accessories and information.

Classical Net. This site features reviews of more than 1800 CDs, as well as 5500 files and over 3800 links to a wide array of classical music sites.

Cornet Compendium: The History and Development of the Nineteenth Century Cornet. Schwartz has given us a most useful and badly needed addition to the growth of knowledge of the cornet-one that will undoubtedly prompt still more research into the history of this magnificent instrument.

International Clarinet Association. This site contains publications and information gathered by people working together, collaborating on the artistry, technique, teaching, and physics of this wonderful instrument, the clarinet.

International Conference of Symphony and Opera Musicians (ICSOM). The ICSOM site is dedicated to "the promotion of a better and more rewarding livelihood for the skilled orchestral performer and to the enrichment of the cultural life of our society."

International Trumpet Guild (ITG). This site promotes communications among trumpet players around the world and improves the artisitic level of performance, teaching, and literature associated with the trumpet.

MENC: National Association for Music Education. The mission of MENC: The National Association for Music Education is to advance music education by encouraging the study and making of music by all.

Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1870-1885. Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1870-1885 consists of over 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1870 to 1885. Included are popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.

Opera Glass. This site provides detailed information including libretti, source texts, performance histories, synopses, discographies, and pictures, background information, and more on any of a number of operas plus pointers to many other opera servers.

Percussive Arts Society (PAS). This valuable resource is designed to help promote percussion education, research, performance, and an appreciation for the percussive arts around the globe.

Piano Page. This site provides education for professional piano technicians and to operate an examinations program to qualify technicians as Registered Piano Technicians (RPT).

Viola Web Site. The purpose of this site is to serve as a valuable tool for providing knowledge and practical ideas of how to improve techniques for violinists.

Violin Society of America (VSA). This site was created for the purpose of promoting the art and science of making, repairing and preserving stringed musical instruments and their bows.

 




Jazz Music

Jazz Online. Jazz Online is the world’s first commercial interactive network devoted exclusively to jazz.

WNUR-FM Jazz Web. Provides a wealth of information pertaining to jazz and its performances.