Search for Social Work websites here...
American Public Human Welfare Association. The APWA Web site is a good place for news concerning welfare, child welfare, health care reform, and other issues involving families and the elderly. Some sources on this site include in-depth information on welfare reform, resources on this site includes in-depth information on welfare reform, state-by-state listings of relevant news items and a browsable list of abstracts from the association's journal.
Code
of Federal Regulations. (CFR) is a codification of the general
and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive
departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The CFR online is
a joint project authorized by the publisher, the National Archives and
Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register, and the Government
Printing Office (GPO) to provide the public with enhanced access to
Government information. The CFR is divided into 50 titles which represent
broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each title is divided into
chapters which usually bear the name of the issuing agency. Each chapter
is further subdivided into parts covering specific regulatory areas.
Large parts may be subdivided into subparts. All parts are organized
in sections, and most citations to the CFR will be provided at the section
level. Sections that are of vital importance to social workers are:
Title 42, Public Health and Title
45, Public Welfare.
Federal
Register. The Federal Register is the official daily publication
for Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations,
as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents. Helpful
Hints provide instructions for searching the database. Documents may
be retrieved in ASCII "TEXT" format (full text, graphics omitted), Adobe
Portable Document Format, "PDF" (full text with graphics), and "SUMMARY"
format
Grassroots:
Social Science Search. This Web resource is maintained
by the School of Social Work at Andrews University. It is essentially
a searchable database of over 1,500 reviewed websites of interest to
social work students and practitioners. A subject arrangement
of the sites is also included with topics such as field, research, practice,
values/ethics, cultural and ethnic diversity, social welfare policy,
and more.
National
Association of Social Workers. National Association
for Social Workers. Founded in 1955, the NASW is currently the largest
association of professional social workers in the world. Their Web site
includes a catalog of publications, the NASW Code of Ethics, accreditation
information, and links to resources. This site is also a useful current
awareness tool.
New
Social Worker Online.
THE NEW SOCIAL WORKER ONLINE is an electronic companion to the print
magazine devoted to social work students and recent graduates. Includes
full-text articles, an online career center, social work links, and
more.
Praxis: Resources for Social and Economic Development. A resource developed by Richard Estes, a professor in the School of Social Work at the University of Pennsylvania. This guide will be especially useful for social work researchers with an international focus.
Public
and Private Laws. The Public and Private Laws database is a
collection of laws enacted during the 107th Congress (2001-2002), 106th
Congress (1999-2000), 105th Congress (1997-1998) and 104th Congress
(1995-1996) and is prepared and published by the Office of the Federal
Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration.
Social
Services InfoNet. Link to Internet resources, selected
and indexed by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts editors, includes reviewed
books in social work, new Web sites, topical bibliographies, and social
policy. Some material requires paid subscription.
Social
Work Access Network (SWAN). SWAN has become the site of
choice for professionals, educators, and students searching the web
for resources related to social work. Access to lists of schools
of social work in the US, listservs, conferences, chats, etc.
Find members in their Virtual Community.
Social
Work Cafe. Tobi Ann Shane's Social Work Cafe has become
the online meeting place of choice for social work students. Access
to community bulletin boards, student message board, reading room, career
advice, chat etc.
Social
Work History Station. This site is another instructional
resource that is designed to support classroom instruction in the areas
of welfare and social work history. Professor Dan Huff from the
School of Social Work at Boise State University is the creator, and
he hopes the site will prove useful to other educators.
Social
Work Search. Directory of social work links
Social
Work Student. The purpose of this site is to give all
students of social work, access to relevant links and information to
help them with their course work.
Society
for Social Work and Research. A non-profit association committed
to improving the support for research among social workers.
WWW Resources for Social Workers. This is the largest social work meta-index in the world. It allows browsing of hierarchical categories as well as key word searches.
