Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice: Statistical Sources

This subject guide covers criminal justice resources available at the Johnston Memorial Library, including full-text journals, magazine, and newspaper articles, criminal justice websites, and printed materials.

Statistical Sources - Search Engine

Selected Government Web Resources

Bureau of Justice Statistics Primary source for United States criminal justice statistics. Provides statistical reports on many aspects of crime and criminal justice, including capital punishment, prisons, drunk driving, probation, police departments, and victims of crime.    

Crime in the United States Referred to as the Uniform Crime Report provides crime statistics for the U.S., states, regions, counties, cities, and towns.

Federal Bureau of Prisons. Provides brief statistics about federal prisons, federal prisoners, and staff of federal prisons.

Justice Research and Statistics Association Crime and Justice Atlas Provides a graphical presentation of trends in crime and sentencing over the last 25 years for the nation as a whole, and for each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia individually. 

SEARCH : The National Consortium for Justice Information and Statistics  Offers justice information and publications for criminal justice community, including justice information policy analysis publications and links to National Sex Offender Registry Assistance Program websites.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics  Contains statistical data on criminal justice systems, numbers of criminal offenses and reports of victims of crimes, etc.   

Statistical Analysis Centers (Justice Research and Statistics Association)  Links to specific criminal justice-related data sets at the state level.

U. S. Data and Statistics. Provides easy access to the full range of publicly available statistics produced by these agencies.