Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historical Information on African Americans: Research Databases

This subject guide covers selected historical resources and government information on African American history before 1970.

Collection Development Librarian

Louveller Luster's picture
Louveller Luster
Contact:
VSU Library Reference Desk
804-524-5582
Website

Recommended Databases

Accessible Archives. Devoted to primary source material in American history that includes selected African American newspapers from the 19th century. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.

America: History and Life . Article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations covering the United States and  Canada from prehistory to the present.

Historical Abstracts. Article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations covering world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the United States and Canada.

Monthly Catalog of US Government Publication, 1895-1976. An index to historical information published by the United States federal government between January 1895 and June 1976.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Offers the full-text and image article from Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003), and the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002). 

ProQuest History Vault. Primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries are among the unique resources available in digital format for the first time

 

Library Discovery Tool

Discovery Tool