Research Portal - MGMT371 - Business Law - Research Portal at Virginia State University

Recommended Databases

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Covers legal history and government documents including works from some of the greatest minds in legal history, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, an entire database dedicated to constitutions and much more.Contains the U. S. Code, congressional documents, federal governmental regulations, federal statutes, and much more.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text for more than 250 scholarly law journals, including information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
Legislative Insight Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Legislative insight is a federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full-text publications relevant to enacted United States public laws

Legal Reference Guides

Federal Court System of the United States

Glossary of Legal Terms (United states Courts)

Legal Dictionary

Nolo's Free Dictionary of Law Terms and Legal Definitions

Reading Legal Citations (Boston College Law Library)

Google Scholar

Legal Research Using Google Scholar

Recommended Websites

FDsys (Government Publishing Office) - Includes links to documents of legislative, executive, and judicial branches of government and regulator and administrative decisions.

FindLaw: United States Supreme Court Opinions - presents a searchable database of United States Supreme Court decisions since 1993. Court decisions since 1893. Allows the user to search by citation, case title, and text, or to browse by year and by volume.

Google Scholar - allows users to limit search results to federal and state case law and legal journals.It requires users to check case law box

Justia - provides free access to primary legal materials, including case law, codes and regulations, court orders and opinions.

Legal Information Institute - provides access to electronic versions of core materials in numerous areas of law.

Public Library of Law (PLoL) - includes cases from the United States Supreme Court and Courts of Appeals, cases from all 50 states dating back to 1997, and federal law and codes from all 50 states, regulations, court rules, and constitutions.

Legislative Process (U. S. Congress)

Section	Length
1. Overview of the Legislative Process	5:09
2. Introduction and Referral of Bills	3:19
3. Committee Consideration	3:39
4. Calendars and Scheduling	2:35
5. House Floor	3:53
6. Senate Floor	4:17
7. Executive Business in the Senate	1:59
8. Resolving Differences	3:29
9. Presidential Actions	1:58

Conducting Legislative History using ProQuest Legislative History

You can find a legislative history using ProQuest Legislative Insight Archive at least 5 ways:

Browse by Congress and by number in each Congress using the list on the left of the home page;
Enter one of the known citations for the law into the "Citation Checker"- the Public Law number, the Statutes at Large citation or the enacted Bill number;
Type the Popular Name or descriptive terms into the Search box on the home screen to search for matching enactments or amendments;
Click on the Popular Name table link below the Search Box to open and browse the list;
Search using a Title and Section number of the US Code to find the public law that enacted or amended it, example: 18 NEAR/3 879, or "42 USCS 2000e".

MGMT371 - Business Law: Research Portal