Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Discovery Tool
Search for library resources
America: History and Life with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Full coverage of articles and dissertations covering the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1-5 This link opens in a new window
Provides digital access to a highly comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Produced by a partnership between EBSCO and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains online videos for the study of American history. The collection includes The History Channel, documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and other broadcast content of historical events from commercial and governmental sources.
Dissertations Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage for many dissertations and theses after 1997 plus online abstracts since July 1980. Includes citations for over 2 million dissertations and theses in all subject areas from around the world, including doctoral dissertations from 1861-present, and masters theses from 1988 to the present. Also provides twenty-four page previews, where available.
Historical Abstracts with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations covering world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the United States and Canada.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
ProQuest E-Book Central This link opens in a new window
Contains a collection of e-book academic titles representing disciplines and subject matter from a wide range of publishers.
Recommended Library Research Books in History
The Steps of the Research Process
The first step is figuring out what it is that you need. Before you head to the library or log on to your computer, refer to your assignment to find answers to questions like:
- What do I need to do to complete the assignment?
- What is the topic?
- What types of sources are appropriate for the assignment?
- When is the assignment due?
You have quite a few options when it comes to finding the information that you need to complete your assignment. You can use databases, visuals, print or digital media, and the list goes on. Since you have already figured out what you need to complete the assignment, you know how many and what types of sources your professor is expecting you to use. Now you can avoid wasting time with the sources that don’t apply to your assignment and spend your time finding information that you can use.
You know what type of information you’re looking for and you've found information in the sources that meet your assignment’s requirements. After locating these sources, the next step is to make sure that what you have found is high quality information. Ask questions of your source to determine its accuracy and authority, currency, objectivity, and scope:
- What are the author's credentials?
- Is the material factual and unbiased?
- Is there a copyright date?
- What is the breadth and depth of the source's coverage of the topic?
You’ve reached the point where you have collected enough information to complete the assignment. Now you have to answer the final question of the research process: how will you present what you found? Your professor is expecting a professional submission that reflects what was requested in the assignment. Be sure to review your final product a few times before submitting it and check for misspellings and grammatical errors.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Devoted to primary source material in American history that includes selected African American newspapers from the 19th century. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
America's News (now called Access World News) This link opens in a new window
Find global information on topics related to business, criminal justice, education, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos, images and web-only content including the Progress-Index, Richmond Times-Dispatch, Virginian-Pilot, USA Today and international sources.
New York Times in Education This link opens in a new window
This is a separate site from New York Times.com designed to assist educators and students to make the most of the digital content of the New York Times. It includes Faculty Contributions: Articles & Questions to Guide Classroom Discussion, curated New York Times articles, custom news alerts, instructional strategies, co-curricular activities, and weekly digests. To access the site you will need to create an account using your university e-mail address. If you have registered at New York Times.com, then you can use your user name and password from that account.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 131 national & international newspapers and selective full text for more than 335 U.S newspapers. The database also contains full-text television & radio news transcripts.
Recommended History Websites