Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
E-Streaming and Audio
Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Captures performances from the stage and brings them directly to the computer desktop. The collection contains streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia of world music online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
Grove's Dictionary of Music (now called Oxford Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Full-text version of 29-volume print dictionary with musical examples, family histories, important musical cities, and performing societies.
An on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Contains music recorded around the African continent for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University and material collected on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE) sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies