Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on Publishing
A Guide to Surviving A Career in Academia: Navigating the Rites of Passage
LB 1778.2.G84 2011
Digital Scholarship in the Tenure, Promotion, and Review Process
LB 2333.D54 2004
Engaged Writers and Dynamic Disciplines: Research on the Academic Writing Life
PE 1404.T4717 2006
Getting It Publlshed: A Guide for Scholars...
REF PN 161.G46 2008
Guide to Academic Writing
REF PN 146. C33 1993
Guide to Literary Agents
REF PN 163.G84 2012
Handbook for Academic Authors
REF PN 146.L84 2010
Who Owns Academic Work? Battling for Control of Intellectual Property
KF 2979.M37 2001
PN 161.W83 2012
Writer's Market Companion
REF PN 147.F43 2004
Ulrich's International Periodical Directory
An online version of the Ulrich's Periodical Directory of journal, magazine, newspaper and newsletter titles published in the United States and around the world.
Web of Science
An electronic service that includes Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present and the Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present.
Additional Journal Ranking Resources
Eigenfactor.org is an academic research project aimed to use recent advances in network analysis and information theory to develop novel methods for evaluating the influence of scholarly periodicals and for mapping the structure of academic research.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains
E-Books on Publishing
Beginner's Guide to Getting Publi by
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
The writers who get their work published are not necessarily the most brilliant. They are writers who provide what editors and publishers want. Being a successful writer means balancing your individuality and enthusiasm with your writing and selling skills.
Publishing Your Psychology Research by
Publication Date: 2002-03-29
`The whole book is clear and well-written, and therefore should be easily accessible to anyone conducting research in psychology, although it is primarily aimed at those in the later years of a postgraduate course or the early stages of research career' - PsyPag
The Handbook of Academic Writing by
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
The Handbook of Academic Writingoffers practical advice to busy academics who want, and are often required, to integrate writing into their working lives. It defines what academic writing is, and the process of getting started through to completion, covering topics such as: Gaining momentum Reviewing and revising Self-discipline Writing regularly Writers' groups and retreats Academic writing is one of the most demanding tasks that all academics and researchers face. In some disciplines there is guidance on what is needed to be productive, successful writers; but in other disciplines there is no training, support or mentoring of any kind. This book helps those in both groups not only to improve their writing skills and strategies, but, equally importantly, to find satisfaction in engaging in regular and productive writing. Underpinned by a diverse range of literature, this book addresses the different dimensions of writing. The fresh approach that Murray and Moore explore in this book includes developing rhetorical knowledge, focusing on writing behaviours and understanding writing contexts. This book will help writers in academic contexts to develop a productive writing strategy, not only for research monitoring exercises, but also for the long term.
Writing for Academic Journals by
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
This revolutionary text is the product of thousands of hours of discussions with academics about their writing. Busy academics must develop productive writing practices quickly. To pass external tests of research output, academics must write to a high standard while juggling other professional tasks. This may mean changing writing behaviours. This book draws on current research and theory to provide new knowledge on writing across the disciplines and is jargon-free, user-friendly, practical, and motivational.