Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Academic Publishing Workshop@VSU: Setting Up Search Alerts

What are search alerts?

Search Alerts, also known as Current Awareness services, help users stay current in what is being published in their area of interest through automatic e-mail updates from databases and electronic journal services.

Federal Grant Funding Alert

Grants.gov Alerts.  Subscribe to receive notifications of new grant opportunity postings and updates on Grants.gov. You do not need to be a registered user of Grants.gov to sign-up for this service.

E-Journal Alerts

American Chemical Society Journals. Provides table of contents alerts for published issues.  

BioOne.  Online Issue Alert is an email service notifying you when new issues are available on BioOne. You will receive notification at your email address for any journal you select. 

Emerald Full-text Journals. Provides personal e-mail notification of new articles published online, ensuring that users are kept up-to­date with the latest research.

HighWire Press. Electronic table of contents allow you to receive in email either complete Tables of Contents (from both current and future content) or notification that an issue has just gone online.

IEEE All-Society Periodicals Package (ASPP). Provides table of contents alets for recently published materials.

Institute of Physics Journals.  Provides access to tables of contents, abstracts, and full-text articles for Institute of Physics electronic journals. Includes also Table of Content alerts as soon as issues are published online.

JSTOR Alerts Provides service to receive email alerts for saved searches, tracked journals (eTOC) and tracked citations. 

Nature.com. Provides online access to Nature. E-mail alerts provide you with a time saving solution to keep abreast of each new online issue.

Oxford University Journals.  Offers a table of contents e-mail alerting service from the home page of each of journal. This is a free service that will alert you of new issues as they are published online.

ScienceDirect Provides topic alerts notify you by e-mail when a search on a particular topic retrieves new results. 

SpringerAlerts.  An up-to-date method to keep abareast of new developments in your field and recently published Springer books and journals.  You can customize your SpringerAlerts to deliver exactly the information you need.

Taylor and Francis (InformaWorld). Provides alerts on new articles published in the journal collection.

Wiley Online Journal Library. Offers registered users the ability to sign up for different types of e-mail alerts.

 

 

 

 

Database Search Alerts Help Guides

EBSCOHost Databases.  Search Alert feature automates the process of checking for new results from a specific search.

OVID Technologies Gateway   Offers Ovid AutoAlert that enables users to save a search as an AutoAlert and automatically receive updates via email whenever new articles that match their search criteria become available.

ProQuest Central. Allows users to create alerts for searches and receive e-mail notifications of new search results.