Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIOL 130-Professional Practices in Biology: Career Web Resources

Career Preparation Resource

VSU Career Services

Virginia State University Career Services is dedicated to helping VSU students and alumni with exploring career options and empowering them to achieve their career and educational goals. Our goal is to provide the highest quality of service and opportunities for our students, alumni, employers, faculty, staff, parents and the community.

Fastest Growing Occupations

Additional Web Resources

BioOne Career Center provides both job posters and job seekers in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences with an easy-to-use, curated portal.

Career One Stop contains information about specific occupations. There are sections specifically for youth, for career changers, for career advisors and for parents. In each section there are links to information about: assessing occupational interests, skills and abilities; exploring career options; education and training; and finding jobs. 

Career Outlook provides practical information on jobs and careers. Articles cover a wide variety of career and work-related topics such as new and emerging occupations, training opportunities, salary trends, and results of new studies from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

How to Write A Career Plan provides step-by-step instructions on writing a career plan. 

LearningExpress Library is an online test preparation resource for academic and career development for undergraduate level college students.

 

Monster.com presents monster.com, an employment database. Allows searching of entry-level and professional jobs throughout the United States and Canada. Features online career assistance, chats and message boards, real-time job postings, complete company profiles and job screenings. Allows searching by job title, location, and industry.

 

Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives.

 

O*NET. the Occupational Information Network, is a comprehensive database of worker attributes and job characteristics.

 

Projections Central provides projections of occupational employment growth are developed for all States and the nation.

 

How To Use Occupational Outlook Handbook.

How to Use ONET