Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Agriculture: Government Information

This subject guide covers agriculture resources available at the Johnston Memorial Library, including full-text journals, magazine, and newspaper articles, agriculture websites, and printed materials in the Reference Collection.

Government Information

Agricultural Statistics. Online database that contains statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.  Covers 1994 to present. 

AGRIS.  This database was created by FAO in 1974 to facilitate information exchange and to identify world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture.  Particularly strong in literature of developing countries.  Covers 1974 to the present.

Census of Agriculture. The Census of Agriculture is a complete accounting of United States agricultural production.  The census is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every county in the Nation.  This site provides the 2000 census, links to the 1992, 1997, are provided.

FAOSTAT.  FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional  data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries. 

History of American Agriculture.  Every aspect of farm life is covered in this database maintained by USDA.  Categories include farm machinery, economy, organizations, crops, livestock, and life on a farm.

USDA Economics and Statistics System. This database contains nearly 300 reports and data sets from economics agencies of the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture.  These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics

U. S. Data and Statistics - USAGov. Serves as a gateway to statistics from U.S. Federal agencies.  Topic links are provided as well as links to statistical agencies.  Searching across agency websites is also provided. Internet Resources for Agriculture and Life Sciences.  Areas include: agriculture and applied economics; education; animal, dairy and poultry sciences; biochemistry; food science and technology; plant, soil, and environmental sciences; sustainable farming, and more.

Michael Walker's picture
Michael Walker
Contact:
University Libraries
Box 9406
Petersburg, VA 23806
804-524-6946