African American Mosaic. This exhibit marks the publication of The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture. A noteworthy and singular publication, the Mosaic is the first Library-wide resource guide to the institution's African- American collections.
African-American Odyssey. This Special Presentation of the Library of Congress exhibition, The African-American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship, showcases the Library's incomparable African-American collections. The presentation is a highlight of what is on view in this major black history exhibition and a glimpse into the Library's vast African-American collections.
Black Film Archive. Offers synopsis of films with links to stream.
First-Person Narratives of the American South, 1869-1920. This compilation of printed texts from the libraries at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill documents the culture of the nineteenth-century American South from the viewpoint of Southerners. It includes the diaries, autobiographies, memoirs, travel accounts, and ex-slave narratives of not only prominent individuals, but also of relatively inaccessible populations: women, African Americans, enlisted men, laborers, and Native Americans.
Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. About 2,000 pages of family histories based on all colonial court order and minute books on microfilm at the state archives of Virginia, Maryland, North Carolina and Delaware (over 1000 volumes), 1790-1810 census records, tax lists, wills, deeds, free Negro registers, marriage bonds, parish registers, Revolutionary War pension files, etc.
HistoryMakers. An online video collection of oral history interviews with significant African Americans in the U.S.
Moorland-Spingarn Research Center (Howard University). Contains comprehensive repositories for the documentation of the history and culture of people of African descent in Africa, the Americas and other parts of the world.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Several divisions in the Research Libraries hold archival collections – the papers of individuals and families, the records of organizations, and consciously assembled collections of unique and unpublished material. Archival collections contain a wide variety of primary source material, not only paper documents –such as correspondence, manuscripts, and diaries– but also photographs, sound recordings, films, videotapes, artifacts, and electronic records.
Virginia Memory: Virginia Untold: the African-American Narrative This digital project provides access to records from the Library of Virginia related to enslaved and free Black and multiracial people in pre-1867 Virginia.
