POLI 209 Public Administration

• Directory of State Government - Find contact information for each state or territory.
• Directory of Local Government - Find contact information for local governments by state.
• 50states.com - Links to information on each state, U.S. territories, and the District of Columbia that covers geographic, demographic, political, historical, economic, and much more.
• Govengine.com - Links to official federal, state, and local government information sites for the United States, Guam, American Samoa, Virgin Islands, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.
• Governing - Presents the monthly magazine, GOVERNING. Provides current information about state and local governments as well as links to resources on topics such as the environment, waste management, health, policy and politics, and transportation.
• Legiscan.com - Provides impartial real-time legislative tracking of every bill in the 50 states and Congress.
• Openstates.org -  A collection of tools that allows users to track what is happening in their state's capitol by aggregating information from all 50 states, Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico....
• National Conference of State Legislatures - Presents information about the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), an organization that is made up of state lawmakers and legislative staffers. Includes an overview and history of the NCSL, which offers services including research on state issues, publications, meetings and seminars, and legislative information databases.
• Stateline - Provides a set of tools to citizens stay abreast of important developments in the 50 state capitols, where much of the policy that governs our lives is debated and enacted.

Acts of Assembly. Annual. Contains enactments of the Virginia General Assembly for each session.  Location: Library Annex Building. Call Number: REF XL1000 L4a.

Code of Virginia. Online access to all the exiting laws of Virginia. Includes a listing of all code titles and popular name listing of acts and laws.  Printed volumes of the Code are located in the Library Annex Building.  Call Number:  REF KFV2430 1950.A243.

House and Senate Documents.  Full-text access to reports to the General Assembly.   Printed volumes are located in the Library Annex Building. Call Number:  J87.V9.

Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission. This site provides information about the Commission's evaluation and oversight activities, and access to JLARC reports, summaries, briefings, and data sets.

Journal of the House of Delegates of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Richmond, Va.: Commonwealth of Va., Annual.  A summary of the daily business of the House of Delegates while in session.  It also includes appointments and actions of committees, votes, and resolutions. 

Journal of the Senate of the Commonwealth of Virginia.  Richmond, Va.: Commonwealth of Va., Annual.  A summary of the daily business of the House of Delegates while in session.  It also includes appointments and actions of committees, votes, and resolutions.   Location:  Library Annex Building. J87.V95. 

Supreme Court of Virginia.  Both the Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals can be searched from this site.  Printed volumes for the Supreme Court of Virginia and the Court of Appeals can be found at the Library Annex Building. Supreme Court of Virginia Call number: J2020 S7.  Virginia Court of Appeals, Call number: J2040 R3.

Virginia General Assembly. Online access to complete bill status, searchable text of legislation, patron history, and roll call votes (committee and floor) from 1994- present.

Virginia Administrative Code. The official compilation of rules and regulations adopted by the agencies, departments, boards, commissions and other authorities of the Commonwealth empowered by the basic laws to make regulations and decide cases under Virginia laws.

Virginia Register of Regulations.  A compilation of the rules and regulations issued by the state agencies.  These rules and regulations are codified in the Virginia Administrative Code.