Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Special Report - Black History Month
Celebrating Black History Month
In-depth perspectives on black culture, issues and events, along with profiles of famous figures and leaders. Includes primary source images from the slavery movement.
American History in Video
Contains online videos for the study of American history. The collection includes The History Channel, documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and other broadcast content of historical events from commercial and governmental sources.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection
An online video collection that provides unlimited access to 300,000 video clips in numerous subject areas. These video can be added to online catalogs, distance education courses, and learning management systems. Includes captioning with interactive and searchable transcripts on all titles.
FMG Archival Films and Newsreels Collection
Contains thousands of archival and historical films including, but not limited to, newsreels produced by Universal Studios and the U.S. Office of War Information around World War II.
An on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines.
PBS Video Collection
A collection of video programming from the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS). To access any of the video titles, please click-on List of all available videos. At the next screen select Virginia State University from the pull-down menu. You must enter your active directory user name and password to view the video. This service is available to current VSU faculty, staff and students only. Viewing requires Quicktime Player.
Featured Database of the Month
National Museum of African American History and Culture
PBS Black Culture Connection
Brown vs Board of Education
Devoted to primary source material in American history that includes selected African American newspapers from the 19th century. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
African American Historical Serials Collection
Includes African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies.
America: History and Life with Full-Text
Full coverage of articles and dissertations covering the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
Collection contains all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery, including cases into the 20th century because long after slavery was ended there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
ProQuest Black Historical Newspapers
Offers the full-text and image article from Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003), and the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
ProQuest History Vault: Black Freedom Digital Archive
Primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries are among the unique resources available in digital format for the first time. Module one consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers, and the second module is comprised of 36 collections from federal government agencies.