It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
Find global information on topics related to business, criminal justice, education, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos, images and web-only content including the Progress-Index, Richmond Times-Dispatch, Virginian-Pilot, USA Today and international sources.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
One-stop source for leading information technology books online, videos, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences. .Access to this resource requires registration with your Virginia State University email address.
Explore more than 30 years of Richmond and Virginia history with the Richmond Times-Dispatch Collection. Coverage from 1985 through today, including full-text, web-only content and full-color image edition. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Digital Theatre+, which includes over 600 productions, from musicals to literary classics and in a range of formats including captured theatre, films, TV adaptations, audio theatre and poetry recitals; more than 800 video resources such as interactive workshops, dynamic e-learning videos, and exclusive interviews, lectures and documentaries; and over 21,000 pages of written resources, from accessible guides to essays to ready-made teaching resources, written by educators for educators.
One person in seven experiences disability, yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. Access to the primary and secondary source materials within this collection enables you to include this important piece of the puzzle in your research.
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collections of Jazz music available online. It offers over 248,366 tracks of jazz from more than 23,081 albums. Over 12,000* jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises the catalogues of 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz, Warner Jazz and over 520 other labels. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B. All these can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, home or office.
Complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 940 labels such as BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, CPO, CSO Resound, Decca, Deutsche Grammophon, Erato, Dynamic, Finlandia, Grand Piano, Hänssler Classic, Harmonia Mundi, Hungaroton, LSO Live, Marco Polo, Naïve, Naxos, New York Philharmonic, Nimbus, Nonesuch, Ondine, Orfeo, PentaTone, RCA Records, Sony Classical, Supraphon, Teldec, Universal Classics, Vanguard Classics, Warner Classics, Warner Classics - Parlophone (former EMI Classics) and many more.
Wide range of standard and specialist repertoire
Hundreds of albums added each month
Music notes, cover artwork, tracklist, instrumentation and publisher information
Libretti of over 65 and synopses of close to 1000 operas