It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
Find global information on topics related to business, criminal justice, education, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos, images and web-only content including the Progress-Index, Richmond Times-Dispatch, Virginian-Pilot, USA Today and international sources.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
One-stop source for leading information technology books online, videos, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences. .Access to this resource requires registration with your Virginia State University email address.
Explore more than 30 years of Richmond and Virginia history with the Richmond Times-Dispatch Collection. Coverage from 1985 through today, including full-text, web-only content and full-color image edition. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans including disabled Americans and those identifying as LGBTQ. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time.
This collection brings together more than 500 titles dealing with the topic of gun regulation and legislation in America. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, links to scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research the subject.
Contains Counseling & Psychotherapy, Criminology & Criminal Justice, and Nursing Video Collections, including hours of video and addresses a wide range of academic and practitioner issues through tutorials, interviews, and demonstrations.
Collection contains all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery, including cases into the 20th century because long after slavery was ended there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.