Skip to main content

Virginia State University Special Collections and Archives: Forms for Patrons

Research Request

Our research request form, which you will be asked to fill out and sign before beginning research at VSU

You can  fill the form out before you come for research and bring it with you, or you can fill it out on-site.

Patron Forms

On this page you will find copies of most forms you may be asked to fill out when visiting VSU Special Collections and Archives. If you'd like you may print them and bring them with you or fill them out electronically and email them to us in preparation for your visit. If you have any questions about the forms, please don't hesitate to ask!

Permission to Reproduce Photographs

Do you want to use photographs in our collection in an exhibit, book, article, or a reason other than personal research? Download the Permission to Reproduce/Publish Photographs form.

Please fill out the form completely. When writing out the material desired for reproduction, please include as much information as possible. For information found using our finding aids, please include the Collection Number & Title  (ex: Luther Porter Jackson Papers, 1952-1), the Box & Folder numbers (ex: Box 73 Folder 1833,) and the title of the item you'd like to use (ex: Photograph Luther Porter Jackson, n.d.).

If you want images found on our HBCU Library Alliance portal, please include the title of the image, a copy of the link, and a descirption of the content. (ex Mabel Harris, http://contentdm.auctr.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/VSUD/id/667, Ms. Harris portrait, looking to left.)

When the form is filled and signed, please email to Ms. Jessica Johnson.


Images are default scanned at 400 dpi. Please note if you would like a larger resolution on the permission forms.

Due to limitations with staff time, we cannot generally provide rush services. We will give you an estimate of the turn-around time when we recieve your request. Additionally, due to limitations with our scanning equipment, we may be unable to scan large format items.

Rare Book Call Slip

As with our archival and manuscript materials, archives staff must retrieve materials from our rare book room for you. You will be asked to fill out a rare book call slip for all books in Special Collections and University Archives. Below is an example of how to fill it out.


Rare Book Call Slip          VSU Special Collections
Patron Name:  Jim Doe
Date: 10/30/2013
Book Title: Black Greek 101   
Author: Walter M. Kimbrough
Call Number: (sc) LJ 51 .K56 2003

Personal Camera Permissions

If you wish to take photographs of material, you must read and sign a permission form. Please supply the names of the collections you wish to photograph and sign at the bottom.

Please note that all photographs taken are for personal research use only and may not be used for publications or exhibits of any sort, nor transferred to a third party. If you wish to publish, transfer, or exhibit an image of the material, you must make a separate request and clear copyright.

Archival Call Slips

The archival call slip lets archives staff know what materials you wish to use and easily retrieve it for you. You will be asked to provide the information requested below to facilitate your request.  Below, in blue is an example of how to fill out a request for Manuscript and Archival materials.


Patron Name: Jim Doe

Date: 10/30/2013

Collection Name Accession Number Box Number Received Returned Staff Initials
Virginia Teacher's Association  1969-14 1-6,52,100
Colson-Hill Family    1965-13 2
Virginia Statesman    RG 15 1967-1970
Yearbook 1950
Catalog, Undergraduate   1887-1895

Deed of Gift

A sample of our Deed of Gift given to those considering VSU as the repository to permanently house your materials.

If you wish to donate your materials to VSU's Special Collections and University Archives, please contact us, and we will send you a fillable version of this Deed of Gift.