Skip to Main Content

Alphabetical Listing of Library Databases: A

A

Includes online encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger imprints covering subject areas in the social sciences, science, and technology.
 
 
Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
 
 
 
Multi-disciplinary full-text database that offers indexing and abstracts for journals monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back to 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are also provided.   

 

Accessible Archives  Devoted to primary source material in American history that includes selected African American newspapers from the 19th century. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.


ACM Digital Library  
Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985.  

 

Provides  insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling and writing style for any STEM author, reviewer, or editor.   
 

 

Collection contains biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music.

 

African American Song
Collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others documenting the history of African American music in an online music listening service.
 

AGRICOLA
Literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.
 

AIDS & Cancer Research Abstracts  
Provides bibliographic data from the worldwide scientific literature as related to AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics.

AIP SCITATION 
An electronic publishing platform of bibliographic records and abstracts from major physical science journals with links to the PDF of the full-text journal.

 

Alt HealthWatch
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.  

 
American Chemical Society Journals  
Provides links to selected full-text articles and current features from journals published by the American Chemical Society. 
 

America: History and Life  
Article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations covering the United States and  Canada from prehistory to the present.

American History in Video
Contains online videos for the study of American history. The collection includes The History Channel, documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, publc affairs footage, and other broadcast content of historical events from commercial and governmental sources.
 

American Institute of Physics (AIP) Journals
Offers links to AIP journal publications and publishing services.
 

American Physical Society (APS) Journals -
Provides links to individual journal publications along with information for authors and referees.

 

American Poetry, 1760 – 1900
Searchable database of 1,288 works by 209 poets from 1760 to 1900.

 

American Song
Collection of songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, including songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys.  
 
Annual Reviews
Full-text access to scientific information in the fields of physical sciences, social sciences, and biological and medical sciences.
 

ANTE: Abstracts in New Technology and Engineering
Coverage includes new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas. 

Applied Science and Technology Index Retrospective (1913 – 1983).
Provide access to seven decades of information from the most important historical sources in the applied science and technology field-many of them peer-reviewed journals. Contains the complete content of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957) and Applied Science & Technology Index (1958-1983), offering unique coverage of business and industry up through 1957.

 

Aqualine
Provides comprehensive focus on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources.

 

Art Retrospective, 1929-1984 
Provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984.   

 

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

 

Associates Programs Source
Primary focus on disciplines of study within associate degrees and certification programs in the areas of accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology, welding, and much more.