This is the "A" page of the "Alphabetical Listing of Library Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alphabetical Listing of Library Databases  

Last Updated: Dec 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.vsu.edu/a-z Print Guide Email Alerts

A Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

A

Includes online encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger imprints covering subject areas in the social sciences, science, and technology.

 

ABI/INFORM
Articles on business, finance, management through an easy to use web page.

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary full-text database that offers indexing and abstracts for journals monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back to 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are also provided. 
  

Collection of  full-length streaming video titles covering history, area studies, art and architecture, business and economics, counseling, criminal justice, dance, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, health, humanities, literature, opera, philosophy, politics, psychology, religion, theater, women and gender studies, and world languages. 

Access Newspaper Archive. Contains searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s in the United States. Includes local newspapers in Virginia such as the Progress Index from July 1865 - December 1977.   

Accessible Archives  Devoted to primary source material in American history that includes selected African American newspapers from the 19th century. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.


ACM Digital Library  
Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. 
 

Provides  insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling and writing style for any STEM author, reviewer, or editor.   
 

Advanced Polymers Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts to the technical literature on the uses, manufacturing, and properties of thermoset and thermoplastic resins-- materials that compete with metals for structural applications.

African American Music Reference
Collection contains biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music.


African-American Poetry, 1760 – 1900
This is the new web link for this resource.


African American Song
Collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others documenting the history of African American music in an online music listening service.


AGRICOLA
Literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.


AIDS & Cancer Research Abstracts  
Provides bibliographic data from the worldwide scientific literature as related to AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics.

AIP SCITATION 
An electronic publishing platform of bibliographic records and abstracts from major physical science journals with links to the PDF of the full-text journal.

Alexander Street Drama Collection
Includes all the full-text plays in 6 Alexander Street drama collections (Black Drama, Asian American Drama, Latino Drama, Twentieth Century North American Drama, North American Indian Drama, and North American Women's Drama), nearly 6,000 works, all cross-searchable. Also included is the powerful North American Theatre Online reference project-the largest theatre reference tool ever created
.

Alt HealthWatch
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.

 
Contains educational streaming video collections covering subjects such as Shakespeare Plays, Civil Rights, Equal Rights, Modern Art, and Religion.
 
American Chemical Society Journals  
Provides links to selected full-text articles and current features from journals published by the American Chemical Society.
 
American Fisheries Journals Online
The journals of the American Fisheries Society have moved. They are now being published by Taylor & Francis.This database offers abstracts and full-text articles from online journals of the American Fisheries Society: Fisheries, Journal of Aquatic Animal Health, North American Journal of Aquaculture, North American Journal of Fisheries Management, Progressive Fish-Culturist, and Transactions of the American Fisheries Society. 
 

America: History and Life  
Article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations covering the United States and  Canada from prehistory to the present.

Contains online videos for the study of American history. The collection includes The History Channel, documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, publc affairs footage, and other broadcast content of historical events from commercial and governmental sources.
 

American Institute of Physics (AIP) Journals
Offers links to AIP journal publications and publishing services.

American Physical Society (APS) Journals -
Provides links to individual journal publications along with information for authors and referees.

American Poetry Database
Includes poems from 1,288 works by 209 poets, along with six landmark anthologies of American poetry.

American Song
Collection of songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, including songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. 
 

 

Contains complete full-text content from nearly 1791 American news sources, covering local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. This includes newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video, blogs, journals, magazines and web-only sources.

 

Animal Behavior Abstracts
Significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology, are covered.

Annual Reviews
Full-text access to scientific information in the fields of physical sciences, social sciences, and biological and medical sciences.

ANTE: Abstracts in New Technology and Engineering
Coverage includes new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas.

 

Provide access to seven decades of information from the most important historical sources in the applied science and technology field-many of them peer-reviewed journals. Contains the complete content of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957) and Applied Science & Technology Index (1958-1983), offering unique coverage of business and industry up through 1957.

Aqualine
Provides comprehensive focus on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources.

Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.  Contains citations to the print Art Index published from 1929 to 1984. Cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.   
 

Provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984.   

 

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

Asian American Drama
Contain plays representing the various ethnicities within the Asian American community.


Associates Programs Source
Primary focus on disciplines of study within associate degrees and certification programs in the areas of accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology, welding, and much more.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ask-A-Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip