Skip to main content

Virginia State University Special Collections and Archives: Rare and Special Collections Books

Helpful Info

To find books held in the Rare and Special Book Collection, please search VSU's library Catalog TROY by Title, Author, or Subject. Bring the full Call Number, as well as the Author and Book Title to staff in Lindsay-Montague Hall and they will retrieve the book for you.

Please note that Rare Books and Special Collections are closed stacks. All materials must be retrieved by an Archives staff member. All materials must be used in the Special Collections and Archives reading room under the supervision of Archives staff. Books may not be checked out or leave Lindsay-Montague Hall.


To search the TROY catalog, please follow this link and click the Library Catalog tab above the search box: http://library.vsu.edu/

Catalogs, Gazettes, Yearbooks

Below, you can find PDF lists of the catalogs, yearbooks, and VSU Gazettes held in special collections and university archives.

Catalogs: Catalogs contain a wide array of information. They include courses offered, descriptions of degree programs, rules and regulations of the school, and the earlier catalogs also include lists of current (at the time) students and staff, as well as alumni.


Gazettes: An early school newspaper.

Yearbooks: VSU began publishing yearbooks in 1946. If we do not have a specific year, it is because there was no yearbook published that year to our knowledge.

Need Help?

 Society of American Archivists Guide for Researchers

How to Read Library of Congress call numbers

Library Catalog Tutorials

The library catalog provides information regarding books, journals, and other resources available inside the University Library building.

These tutorials will describe how to perform a basic, and advanced, search in TROY.

Basic Search

 

Advanced Search