Skip to Main Content

Alphabetical Listing of Library Databases: S

S

Safari Books Online
One-stop source for leading information technology books online.
 

SAGE Journals Online
Provides online access to the full text scholarly journals from SAGE covering all subject disciplines.

Salud en Espanol (CHC Spanish Version)
This is the Spanish-language interface to Spanish-language content from the Consumer Health Complete database which provides reports and fact sheets on diseases, conditions, procedures and treatments. Subject coverage includes first aid, infant/child care and illnesses, alternative medicine, aging and wellness.

Scholarly Communications Project
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University's  Digital Library and Archives.
 

Science
Provides news of recent international developments and research in all fields of science. Publishes original research results, reviews and short features.

 

ScienceDirect
Contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences. 

 An online version of the popular printed publication that covers scientific discovery and technological innovations.
 

 

SciFinder Scholar
Indexes research literature in chemistry and related sciences, including proteomics, genomics, biochemistry, biochemical genetics, engineering and physics. It is available to VSU faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students only who must first create a user account to access this service.
 
 
Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances.

 

Short Story Retrospective, 1915-1983 

Contain bibliographic entries on more than 150,000 short stories from the Short Story Index from its beginning in 1915 up to 1983. Cites short stories published from the 1930s to the 1980s. Sources include ca. 350 periodicals and collections of short stories.   

 

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Contains music recorded around the African continent for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University and material collected on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE) sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.


Social Work Abstracts
Contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present and a directory of clinical social workers in the United States.

offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. 


Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts
Abstracts of the international literature covering the theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices, and high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology.   

 

SpringerLink Journals and Books
Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal titles as well as journals from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.

Contain a list and brief description of the manuscript groups in the VSU Special Collections & Archives Department. Links to online finding aids provided where available.