Skip to main content

Government Information: Historical Documents

This guide provides access to federal, state, local and international resources.

Historial Documents

Core Documents of U.S. DemocracyAn electronic collection of current and historical United States Government documents which define the American democracy.  Categories include legislative and legal, regulatory, presidential, demographic, and economic.  T

CyberCemetery . An archive of the web sites and publications of defunct federal agencies. Sites appear as they did at the time each agency closed, 1995-present.

Central Intelligence Agency Electronic Reading Room.   Frequently Requested Records -- Full-text documents from the CIA on the following topics: UFOs, Bay of Pigs, POW MIA, Guatemala, Human Rights in Latin America, Ethel and Julius Rosenberg, "Lt. Col. Oleg Penkovsky: Western Spy in Soviet GRU," and "Francis Gary Powers: U-2 Spy Pilot Shot Down by the Soviets." "Peruse the document list" produces documents listed by title. Advanced Search feature allows user to locate documents by keyword, title, date range.

Foreign Relations of the United States, 1863-1958.   From the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries. Full text of the FRUS papers for some volumes from these years. (Collection is incomplete.) Does not including documents dealing with World War I and the Russian Revolution.

NARA.  Official website of the National Archives and Records Administration. Search feature enables user to identify archival collections as well as the full-text or PDF facsimiles of documents from the CIA and other government agencies.

National Security Archive.   An independent library at George Washington University. More declassified documents pertaining to U.S. foreign relations.

Office of the Historian.   Direct link to Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) Papers, from the Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy and Johnson administrations (not complete). Other historical documents. "Other Historical Links" include presidential libraries.

Wayback Machine Internet Archive.   An archive of federal government web sites from 1996-present.