Skip to main content

Government Information: Uncle Sam's Reference Shelf

This guide provides access to federal, state, local and international resources.

Uncle Sam's Reference Shelf

Budget of the United States Government. This report contains the budget message of the president, information on the president's budget and management priorities, as well as receipts, outlays and analysis of federal spending.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance. Federal grants-in-aid.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.  The CGP is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judical branches of the U.S. government .

CIA World Factbook. A one-stop source for basic data on foreign nations.

Condition of Education. Provides information on the status and condition of education in the United States.

Congressional Directory. Brief biographies and committee assignments of Congressmen and Senators.

County and City Databook. Contains statistical data for states, counties, and cities.

County Business Patterns. County Business Patterns is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. The series is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.

Crime in the United States. In depth crime statistics from the FBI.

Dictionary of Occupational Titles. The DOT provides basic occupational information, including titles and definitions for a myriad of jobs. O*NET replaces the DOT.

Digest of Educational Statistics. Compilation of statistical information covering the board field of American education from kindergarten through graduate school.

Economic Indicators. Presents in chart and tabular form statistics on total output, income, spending, employment and much more.

Economic Report of the President. Yearly report on the health of the nation's economy.

Occupational Outlook Handbook. Provides essential career information.

Occupational Outlook Quarterly. Provides practical information on jobs and careers.

O*NET. This is a comprehensive database of worker attributes and job characteristics. Replaces the Dictionary of Occupational Titles,

North America Industry Classification System. NAICS provides common industry definitions for Canada, Mexico, and the U.S.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics. Statistical data on criminal justice systems, numbers of criminal offenses and reports of victims of crimes, etc.)

Standard Industrial Classification. Search SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 4-digit SIC.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the US...

U.S. Government Manual. Provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches

U.S.Postal Service Zip Code Directory. Can search for zip codes throughout the United States.